Skip to main content

Appeals Committee

Here you can find out more about the Appeals Committee, as well as read through previous meeting minutes and papers.

What is the Appeals Committee?

The Appeals Committee and process is set out in the law in the Human Fertilisation and Embryology (Appeals) Regulations 2009. The Appeals Committee is the second and final stage in our appeals mechanism, and will consider matters that have either already been before the Licence Committee that Hears Representations, or matters where the initial decision was an immediate, rather than a proposed, decision – for example a licence suspension.

The current members are:

  • Hodge Malek KC – Chair (legally trained)
  • Timothy Bradbury – Deputy Chair (legally trained)
  • Dr Bernard Herdan CB (Lay)
  • Ian Comfort (Lay)
  • Jennifer Portway (legally trained)
  • Neil Shastri-Hurst (professional)
  • Professor Anthony Redmond OBE (professional)

Review date: 25 October 2025